Reckless Driving Causes Car Crash on CA-91 Freeway in Anaheim, CA
In early morning hours of Tuesday, February 25, 2020, a reckless driver was causing havoc on the eastbound CA-91 freeway near Anaheim, in Orange County, CA, which ultimately ended up in a serious car crash. The car accident which resulted in an innocent driver getting pushed off the road by another driver, was determined to be caused by reckless driving.
According to witnesses, the incident happened on the Anaheim 91 Freeway, near the Gypsum Canyon Exit in Orange County near Yorba Linda, California.
Witnesses reported that around 3 a.m. they observed the driver of a Blue Chevy Cruz driving extremely recklessly and that the Cruz’s owner caused the resultant car crash.
Whether deliberately or through sheer negligence, the driver of the Cruz forced another driver off the road. The innocent driver that was forced off the road crashed into the ditch on the side of the freeway. Luckily the driver did not sustain serious injury from the accident.
The suspect’s vehicle continued a short distance down the freeway before crashing and came to rest between the number 1 and the carpool lane. The suspect left his vehicle and took off running.
California Highway Patrol (CHP) officers quickly arrived at the scene and all vehicles were cleared from the highway which allowed traffic to resume as normal.
No citations were administered, because the suspect fled on foot from the scene of the accident. California Highway Patrol impounded the suspect’s vehicle. If the car is registered in the driver’s name with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), the driver will certainly face civil and criminal penalties for reckless driving, and fleeing the scene of a car accident.
The penalty for a reckless driving in conviction in California is a misdemeanor but carries a penalty of imprisonment of five to 90 days, a fine of $145 to $1,000, or both. In addition,
2 points are automatically added to a person’s driving record. If a driver receives 4 points within a 12 month period, the DMV can suspend a driver’s license.
In addition to reckless driving, the suspect who knew he had caused an accident but had no way of knowing whether the other driver was injured, also faces a misdemeanor charge of hit and run driving which has a potential penalty of up to 6 months in jail, several years of probation, and a maximum fine of up to $1,000.
If convicted, the hit and run driver may be required by the court to make restitution to the driver of the vehicle he pushed off the road and he would lose his driver’s license.
Aggressive driving is the third most frequent cause of accidents in California, behind distracted driving and speeding. In this case, however, both speeding and aggressive driving were involved.
According to Statista, in 2018, there were around 3,651 motor-vehicle deaths in the state of California, which represented a slight increase from 2017. As Orange County continues to grow, a greater number of accidents are occurring on the freeways each year. If you have been injured while driving in Orange County, California, it is important to retain an experienced California car accident attorney. Contact Chudleigh Law P.C. for a free legal consultation if you have any questions related to motor vehicle accidents in California.
Disclaimer: As the result of secondary sources used to complete this post, Chudleigh Law P.C. has not independently verified all facts. If you read something that in inaccurate please contact us and we will correct the inaccuracy. As members of the Orange County and the broader Southern California community, we hope everyone in our community is safe and protected. We cover events in this blog as a way to offer support to the victims, and raise awareness to increase the safety of all drivers in Orange County, CA. However, this information should not be construed as legal advice.